Pharmacology and Toxicology

Faculty List

Professors Emeriti
D.M. Grant, PhD
T. Inaba, PhD
J. Mitchell, PhD
A.B. Okey, PhD
C. Pace-Asciak, PhD
B.P. Schimmer, PhD
E.M. Sellers, MD, PhD

Professor and Chair of the Department
A. Salahpour, PhD, Chair

R. Al-awar, PhD
M. Al-Omran, MD
A.C. Andreazza, PhD
B. Brands, PhD
D. Cherney, PhD
J. Daskalakis, PhD
V. De Luca, MD, PhD
P. Dorian, MD
J. Eubanks, PhD
Y. Finkelstein, MD
L. Galea, PhD
S. George, MD
B.I. Goldstein, MD, PhD
D. Haas, PhD, DDS
M. Hahn, MD, PhD
D.R. Hampson, PhD
S. Ito, MD
S. Kish, PhD
J. Kotsopoulos, PhD
K.L. Lanctôt, PhD
A.D. Lê, PhD
B. Le Foll, MD, PhD
F. Liu, PhD
G. Liu, MD, MSc
C. D. Mazer, MD
R.S. McIntyre, MD
J.H. Meyer, MD, PhD
D. Mueller, MD, PhD
J.N. Nobrega, PhD
M. Olson, PhD
K.S. Pang, PhD
J.D. Parker, MD
A. Petronis, MD, PhD
M. Piquette-Miller, PhD
B. Pollock, MD
A. Ravindran, PhD
D. Riddick, PhD
R.A. Ross, PhD
P. Roy, PhD
M. Schapira, PhD
J. Semple, PhD
E. Sibille, PhD
O.C. Snead III, MD
H.S. Sun, MD, PhD
R. Tyndale, PhD
J.P. Uetrecht, MD, PhD
S. Verma, MD, PhD
P.G. Wells, Pharm D
A.H.C. Wong, MD, PhD
M. Woo, MD, FRCPC, PhD
L.T. Young, MD, PhD

Professors, Teaching Stream
M.I. Arnot, PhD
C. Woodland, PhD

Associate Professors
M. Beaulieu, PhD
L. Boileau, PhD
D. Hess, PhD
M.I. Husain, MD
B. Hubbard, PhD
S. Kloiber, MD
T. Lewis, MD
J. Matthews, PhD
J.P. McPherson, PhD
R. Mizrahi, MD, PhD
A. Ortiz, MSc, MD
A.J. Ramsey, PhD
S. Rizvi, PhD
A. Salahpour, PhD
L. Salmena, PhD
W. Swardfager, PhD
J.A. Udell, MD, MPH
M. Vedadi, PhD
C. Wickens, PhD
R. Yanagawa, PhD, MPH
H.W.H. Yu, PhD
L. Zawertailo, PhD

Assistant Professors
M. Banasr, PhD
D. Barsyte-Lovejoy, PhD
E. Caron-Beaudoin, PhD
M. Chenoweth, PhD
P. Di Ciano, PhD
B. Dunkley, PhD
L. Edgar, PhD
L.C. Halabelian, PhD
R. Harding, PhD
A. Hassan, MD
M.I. Hussain, MBBS
N. Minian, PhD
N. Mittmann, PhD
G. Montandon, PhD
V. Oliveira, PhD
T. Prevot, PhD
M. Reed, PhD
J. Rosenblat, MD
K. Singh, PhD
M. Sloan, MD, MSc, FRCPC
C. Zheng, PhD

Assistant Professors, Teaching Stream
A. Hamadanizadeh, PhD
A.J. Lança, MD, PhD
R. Laposa, PhD

Adjunct Professors
J.A. Arnot, PhD
G. Higgins, PhD
G. Kalabis, PhD
P.P. Li, PhD
J.M. Mayer, PhD
A. Nava-Ocampo, MSc, MD
M.G. Neuman, PhD
B. Pohlmann-Eden, MD, PhD
G. Rachamin, PhD
C. Toal, PhD
J. Wallace, PhD, MBA, FRSC
M. Zack, PhD

Adjunct Lecturers
J. Grant, PhD
A. Haller, PhD
M. Moller, MSc, MD
K. Nylen, PhD
J. Oldenhof, MSc, PhD
B. Setnik, PhD
M.J. Shram, PhD
D. Tambasco, MD


Pharmacology and Toxicology are integrative biological sciences that examine the properties of chemical compounds and their interactions with living systems. They provide the scientific basis for the study of chemical actions in the health sciences, the use of drugs as therapeutic agents or as tools in scientific research, the development and control of pharmaceutical products, and the investigation and control of pollutants and poisons in natural and social environments. The Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology offers four Specialist and two Major undergraduate programs of study that are jointly sponsored by the Faculties of Arts and Science and Medicine. The Specialist programs have the added benefit of providing students with opportunities to learn advanced laboratory techniques and to gain real-world experience through supervised independent research projects and participation in the Arts & Science Internship Program (see below). Students who intend to pursue graduate research and/or careers in pharmacology or toxicology are encouraged to enrol in a Specialist program because of the opportunities for additional experiential learning.

Students wishing to enrol in the Biomedical Toxicology Specialist (ASSPE2573) or in the Pharmacology Specialist (ASSPE2082) will initially apply to the Joint Pharmacology and Biomedical Toxicology Specialist (ASSPE2340) at the end of their first year of study. Students wishing to enrol in the Biomedical Toxicology Major (ASMAJ2573) or in the Pharmacology Major (ASMAJ2082) will initially apply to a general departmental Major (ASMAJ2675) at the end of their first year of study and then select the focus for their future studies (Biomedical Toxicology or Pharmacology) prior to the start of the third year of study. Students wishing to enrol in the Environment and Toxicology Specialist (ASSPE0605) will apply directly to the program after completion of first year prerequisite courses. First and second year courses are the same for students within either the Specialist programs (ASSPE2082/​ ASSPE2340/​ ASSPE2573) or the Major programs (ASMAJ2675/ ASMAJ2082/ ASMAJ2573) within the Department. 

For further information about registration and courses, consult the Arts & Science Program Toolkit and Course Enrolment Instructions, and visit our website at:

Contact Information

Undergraduate Office - General Inquiries:
777 Bay Street, Suite 945 (416-978-2728)

Associate Chair, Undergraduate Education:
Dr. M. Arnot
Medical Sciences Building, Room 4219 (416-978-3164)


Regarding Pharmacology and Toxicology Programs

Arts & Science Internship Program

Starting Fall 2021, the new Arts & Science Internship Program (ASIP) stream is available to students who are entering Year 2 or Year 3 of study and enrolled in the Biomedical Toxicology Specialist, Environment & Toxicology Specialist, Pharmacology Specialist, and the Specialist in Pharmacology and Biomedical Toxicology.

  • Enrolment is limited and requires a supplemental application. Students enrolled in the ASIP stream will be required to complete mandatory Professional Development programming plus a minimum of 12 and maximum of 20 months (Year 2 entry) or a minimum of 12 and maximum of 16 months (Year 3 entry) of paid, full-time work experience. The time to degree completion for students enrolled in ASIP will normally be 5 years. There is an additional cost to participate in the ASIP stream.
  • Students will typically be admitted to the ASIP stream for the Fall term of Year 2 of study, however, in exceptional circumstances students, including transfer students, who enrolled in an eligible program in the Summer after Year 2 can be admitted to the ASIP stream for the Fall of Year 3. Acceptance into an ASIP stream in Year 3 is dependent on space and requires approval of the student's academic unit and the Faculty of Arts & Science Experiential Learning & Outreach Support (ELOS) Office. Please refer to the ASIP eligibility page for further details.
  • Further details about ASIP, including eligibility requirements and application procedures, can be found here. Students may also visit the ASIP webpage or contact the ELOS office at


Students cannot combine any MAJOR or SPECIALIST from this program with another MAJOR or SPECIALIST from this program for their degree.